Jury Duty!

Standard

This week I have jury duty, and it has occurred to me that this may be a great opportunity to observe conflict resolution in action.

IMG_0597

No, I’m not at this court!

I mean, you have a plaintiff and a defendant, both of whom may be emotionally invested in the outcome.  Then you have the jury, a group of peers who are expected to be dispassionate listeners who will ultimately render a fair decision on the case.

So to sum up, we have connective listening, seeing the situation from “their there” (for both plaintiff and defendant), being open to new information, and using critical thinking to arrive at a fair decision.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t called to serve on a jury, so there are no special observations I can add.

I might be the only one disappointed about not serving jury duty!

Add your voice! What are your thoughts on this?

