So Foreign Yet So Familiar

Standard

Two days ago I returned from a one-week trip to Haiti with a small team from my church, Capital Life Church in Arlington, Virginia.

While an entire report on the trip would not be in keeping with the themes of this blog, there are a few observations I’d like to share with you.

Short overview of the trip:

 

First Impressions:

While the arrival at the airport was a bit overwhelming, my first impression of being in Haiti was that it felt familiar.  This was my first trip to Haiti, but it was not my first trip to an underdeveloped country or region, and it simply felt similar to being in Mexico along the border or in the countryside of South Korea.

Interesting Observations:

In fact, there were many things I saw and experienced in Haiti that reminded me of things I’ve seen and experienced in other places around the world, from Mexico and Korea to Thailand.  It really emphasized again to me that we are more similar than we are different.

Next Steps:

Knowing that Haiti is the most impoverished nation in the Western Hemisphere, I asked my hosts many questions about the condition of Haiti and what might be underlying causes for this situation.  Their answers have led me to believe I need to return to Haiti to collaborate with Tom and Bev Brumbley in conducting leadership seminars and workshops, starting with the pastors associated with Evangelistic World Outreach, the organization that hosted our trip.

In fact, this trip has served to re-affirm my life’s purpose and to help me clarify my future direction even more.

Stay tuned – Haiti hasn’t seen the last of me!

 

 

Add your voice! What are your thoughts on this?

