Putting Feet to Your Faith

Standard

Those who know me well know that I have a passion for the nations.  When I returned from living in South Korea in 2009, I knew it was only a matter of time before I found myself traveling internationally again.

Over the past few years, I have have been content to let the world come to me, but I have now shifted into a new season that includes international travel once again.

Six years – nearly to the day – from when I returned to the US, I embarked on what I expect to be the first of many international adventures of this new season.

I am traveling to Haiti with a team from my home church, Capital Life Church in Northern Virginia.  It is my understanding that Haiti is still recovering from the 2010 earthquake that devastated so much of the country, so this will be an amazing opportunity to help those in need and to demonstrate the love of God to people who need it.

We have joined missionaries Tom & Beverly Brumbley of Evangelistic World Outreach to help with some construction projects and conduct 2 children’s camps, working primarily in rural areas that receive little international support.

The Brumbleys have been living and working in Haiti since 1972, and their vision is to equip Haitians so that they make an impact in their own communities – an approach I heartily endorse.  They have done this by establishing several elementary schools and adult education centers, teaching everything from computer classes to animal husbandry.

I can’t wait to come back and tell you all about our adventures in Haiti.  Until then, ask yourself what opportunities are to touch someone’s life there right in front of you?  You don’t have to travel abroad to find people in need!

Add your voice! What are your thoughts on this?

