An Intentional Pursuit

Standard

I have always been a planner, and I’m usually pretty proactive in pursuing my plan.

By the time I graduated from high school, I knew I wanted to live in another country, so I pursued a major I believed would allow me to function in that country – a major in Spanish with a minor in French.  Before long I realized that I would be equipped to communicate but not to earn a living, so I continued my education with a master’s degree in teaching English as a second language; I would now be paid by organizations to live in other countries.

 

Pursuing a dream

together in subway

On the Seoul Metro; photo provided by Tasha M. Troy

Upon graduation, I eventually obtained a job in my field in my hometown, but I still had my sights on teaching abroad.  I explored a couple of different opportunities before I accepted a position teaching in South Korea.

By the age of 29, I had achieved my goal of living overseas!

But what was next?

A new direction

For a number of years in Korea, I drifted from one job to another, simply following the opportunities that presented themselves without any intention behind it.  I was fortunate that my drifting brought me to a job that introduced me to my teaching niche – helping professionals improve their communication skills in order to increase their effectiveness.

When I eventually left that position, I wondered how I could continue meeting the needs of international professionals.  I started thinking about teaching online, and this gave me a new sense of purpose, a new direction to travel in.

 

Pursuit of a new dream

I got to work immediately!  I obtained a teaching position that allowed me to continue working with the same demographic – adult professionals who want to improve their effectiveness in communicating in professional settings.

I next completed a certificate in online teaching and later enrolled in a graduate program that allowed me to learn both video production and designing an online learning environment.

I was building the skill-set I needed to accomplish my plan.

IMG_7447As I moved toward my goals, my vision expanded.  I observed that the communication skills I was honing in myself and teaching my classes were needed by a much larger audience.  Then I discovered the joy and power of blogging.

Today I am intentionally pursuing this larger goal, of helping the world communicate better, especially in situations where there is disagreement and conflict.  I continue to hone my own skills while sharing my experiences and my learnings.

C. S. Lewis is quoted as saying, “You are never to old to set a new goal or to dream a new dream.”  What are you dreaming for your life today?  What intentional steps are you taking in the direction of your dreams?

 

 

 

 

 

More details about my early pursuit: What does it take to achieve a dream?

Add your voice! What are your thoughts on this?

