What Does It Take to Achieve a Dream? A Personal Story

Standard
St. Louis Botanical Garden

St. Louis Botanical Garden

When I was in high school, I had a dream to live and work in another country. Through my middle and high school years, I had gone on several short-term missions trips with my church, and I was enamored with the Hispanic culture. With this goal in mind, I chose Spanish as my undergraduate major (with a minor in French), and decided to pursue graduate studies in teaching English as a second language.  With my language focus, I fully expected to go to northern Africa, perhaps Morocco, to teach English.

However, upon graduation, I moved back to my hometown of St. Louis. This was not what I’d expected!

In St. Louis, I pursued opportunities to teach languages, especially English to international students. When I finally started teaching for Maryville University’s Intensive English Program, I became exposed to more international teaching opportunities. First, I applied to the JET program, sponsored by the Japanese government, but the timing wasn’t right. Later, I applied to teach in S. Korea, and the rest, as they say, is history.

April-May 2008 236I had many opportunities to give up pursuing my goal of living and working in another country, but I never wavered in my determination. However, though my years in S. Korea were a wonderful period of personal and professional development, pursuit of my dream did not lead me where I expected. I have learned that a dream fulfilled will most likely not closely resemble the dream as it was first conceived.

Don’t want to miss an expert opinion on this topic!

 

Take It Deeper

If you would like to go deeper on this topic, I hold free exploratory coaching sessions on Fridays.  You can register online at Troy Communications or email me to schedule an appointment at TMTroy@TroyCommunications.Net

5 thoughts on “What Does It Take to Achieve a Dream? A Personal Story

Add your voice! What are your thoughts on this?

